Common Core State-by-State


The Common Core Standards were created in 2009 to prepare all students for success in career, college, and life. The standards were informed by teachers and standards experts from across the country, taking into consideration the highest international standards, and the most current evidence and expertise about educational outcomes recognizing that both content and skills are important. Since the creation of the Common Core standards via the Common Core State Standards Initiative in 2009, EdGate has continually monitored this state-led effort. Over time, states have continued to change their position on Common Core. A large number of states have rewritten and modified the standards to make them their own. In some cases the modifications are very minor (think slight rewording, reformatting).  In other states, the modifications are quite extensive.  Other states chose not to adopt the Common Core standards or to abandon the standards altogether.

Which states originally adopted the Common Core standards?
Almost all of them; forty-six states plus the District of Columbia and four additional U.S. territories: U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the American Samoa Islands.

 Which states and/or territories did not adopt the Common Core standards?
Alaska, Nebraska, Puerto Rico, Texas and Virginia.

Which states reversed their decision to use the Common Core standards?
Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

Which state uses a portion of the Common Core?
Minnesota adopted the Common Core in English Language arts only.

Which states renamed the Common Core standards?
All of the states who adopted and continue to use the Common Core standards have renamed them.

Which states modified/rewrote the Common Core standards for their state?
New Jersey
New York
North Dakota

Last Updated: April 2018